Concert Calendar
Oct 2016
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Search events   >

Student Recital Schedule   >

Upcoming Events

  • Faculty Recital: Boulez Legacy Series

    October 26, 2016, 8:00 pm
    Mixon Hall

    Boulez the Modernist II

    Shuai Wang, piano
    Madeline Lucas Tolliver, flute
    Benjamin Chen, clarinet, guest artist
    Yun-Ting Lee, violin, guest artist
    Eric Wong, viola
    Daniel Pereira
    , cello
    Thomas Sherwood, percussion, guest artist

  • New Music Symposium

    October 29, 2016, 1:30 pm
    Studio 113

    Guest composer Augusta Read Thomas discusses her music and approach to composition

  • Pre-Concert Discussion: Boulez Legacy Series

    October 30, 2016, 3:00 pm
    Mixon Hall

    Pre-concert Panel Discussion: Reflections on Boulez

    Augusta Read Thomas, University of Chicago; Susan McClary, Case Western Reserve University; and Joshua Smith, principal flute, The Cleveland Orchestra; moderated by Keith Fitch.

Kennedy Center Performance Available Online

February 20, 2014

Students from the Cleveland Institute of Music performed on Thursday, February 20, at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. as part of their Conservatory Project. The concert was streamed live online and is now available for viewing on the Kennedy Center website.

CIM Students at the Kennedy Center, Feb. 20, 2014

Thursday, February 20 at 6pm ET
Kennedy Center: Conservatory Project
2700 F Street N.W., Washington D.C.
Streamed Live on [video archive available]

CIM’s program of performers included three original compositions by the performers appearing.

  • COLIN LAURSEN Invocation (2013)
    Colin Laursen, violin
    Rubén Rengel, violin
  • ALICE HONG Phoenix (2011)
    Alice Hong, violin
  • R STRAUSS Befreit (Freed) & Cäcilie (Cecily)
    Laurel Weir, soprano
    Andrew Rosenblum, piano
  • CHOPIN Andante Spianato and
    Grande Polonaise Brillante, Op. 22
    Dong-Wan Ha, piano
  • FEDOR AMOZOV Lullaby (2014) and
    Folk Fantasy (2011)
    Fedor Amozov, cello

Following are the program notes for the original compositions by current CIM students, who performed their own works.

Invocation (2013) | Colin Laursen
Invocation, for two violins, was written last April for the Cleveland Institute of Music’s annual Legacy Luncheon – an event that hosts some of CIM’s most generous donors and patrons, to whom I am greatly indebted. This composition takes on a highly improvisatory character, and is loosely structured around the Adhan, or the Islamic Call to Prayer. At the heart of the work there are twelve phrases, which generally become increasingly melismatic, in line with the tradition of the Adhan; the result is a kind of reverent quality that lends itself to the title of Invocation. As somebody who has spent a great deal of time in the Middle East, I am fascinated by the musical heritage of the region – both secular and nonsecular – and am intrigued by the great musical potential in reconciling my musical training with unfamiliar sources of inspiration.

Phoenix (2011) | Alice Hong
Phoenix was written the summer after my freshmen year at the Cleveland Institute of Music, during a time when both reflection as well as the desire for a fresh start was at the forefront of my mind. I turned to composing, an outlet I hadn’t had time to explore in awhile. The piece depicts the life of the mythical bird phoenix, from its birth, death as it bursts into flames, and finally its rebirth as it cracks open its shell and enters new life.

Lullaby (2014) and Folk Fantasy (2011) | Fedor Amosov
Lullaby and The Folk Fantasy are devoted to the folk style of music. Cello is one of the rare instruments which is relatively close to the human voice and at the same time can wonderfully represent qualities of many world`s famous instruments such as european luth, japanese semisen or even armenian duduk. My goal as composer was to represent not a concrete quality of any of these given instruments, but a feeling of the endless world of people living as they lived for centuries, living by the law of nature, living in harmony with each other and enjoying the simple beauty of our world.

UPDATE: This article was updated on Feb. 21 to include video archive link for concert performances.

← Back to Newsroom