The Cleveland Institute of Music has assembled a dedicated faculty of international acclaim committed to leading students to the highest professional standards. These practicing artists/teachers pass on a wealth of experience to their students. Click on faculty name to read their biographical information.

* - denotes a member of The Cleveland Orchestra

** - denotes a retired member of The Cleveland Orchestra

Violin Department
Joan Kwuon, Head

Jaime Laredo

Kimberly Meier-Sims
    Violin and Suzuki Pedagogy

* William Preucil

* Stephen Rose

Joel Smirnoff

David Updegraff

Ivan Zenaty

Secondary Instructor(s)

Julie Andrejeski

Carol Ruzicka

Stephen Sims

Viola Department
* Robert Vernon, Head

Kirsten Docter

Jeffrey Irvine
    Fynette H. Kulas Professor of Viola

* Mark Jackobs

* Stanley Konopka

* Lynne Ramsey

Secondary Instructor(s)

* Lisa Boyko

Kirsten Docter

Cello Department
** Stephen Geber, Head

Melissa Kraut
    Cello and Suzuki Pedagogy

* Mark Kosower

Merry Peckham

Sharon Robinson

Alisa Weilerstein
    Visiting Artist-in-Residence

* Richard Weiss

Secondary Instructor(s)

* Bryan Dumm

Ida Mercer

* Richard Weiss

Double Bass Department
* Maximilian Dimoff, Head

* Scott Dixon

Derek Zadinsky

Secondary Instructor(s)

Kathleen Horvath

Harp Department
Yolanda Kondonassis, Head

Secondary Instructor(s)

Jody Guinn

Guitar Department
Jason Vieaux, Head

Colin Davin

Secondary Instructor(s)

Donald Better

Erik Mann

Back to Faculty Directory