The Cleveland Institute of Music has assembled a dedicated faculty of international acclaim committed to leading students to the highest professional standards. These practicing artists/teachers pass on a wealth of experience to their students. Click on faculty name to read their biographical information.

* - denotes a member of The Cleveland Orchestra

** - denotes a retired member of The Cleveland Orchestra

Flute Department
* Joshua Smith, Head

* Mary Kay Fink
    flute, piccolo

Secondary Instructor(s)

Katherine DeJongh

Oboe Department
* Frank Rosenwein, Head

* Elizabeth Camus

* Jeffrey Rathbun

Secondary Instructor(s)

Debra Nagy

Cynthia Watson

Clarinet Department
* Franklin Cohen, Head
    Frank K. Griesinger Chair

Secondary Instructor(s)

Daniel Gilbert

Secondary Instructor(s)

Gregory Banaszak

Bassoon Department
* John Clouser, Head

* Barrick Stees

Secondary Instructor(s)

Mark DeMio

Back to Faculty Directory