Oboist and composer Jeffrey Rathbun became assistant principal oboe of The Cleveland Orchestra in 1990, and served as principal oboe from 2001 to 2003. In 1988, he won first prize in the Lucarelli International Competition for Solo Oboe Players held at Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall, where he also gave his New York debut recital in 1990. His compositions are published by Theodore Presser Co., Jeanne, Inc. and Amoris International.


  • BM, University of North Texas (with Charles Veazey)
  • MM, Cleveland Institute of Music (with John Mack)

Teaching Experience

  • Cleveland Institute of Music (2006–present)
  • Kent State University
  • Kent-Blossom Chamber Music Festival
  • Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory
  • Oberlin
  • Indiana University