March 27, 2019

Milhaud Competition Winners Announced

Ann Yu, first prize winner
Ann Yu, first prize winner

Ann Yu, violin (Laredo/Sloman), was named first prize winner of the 26th Annual Darius Milhaud Performance Prize in which CIM students compete for cash prizes for the best performance of a work by Darius Milhaud. Yu and pianist Melivia Raharjo (Pontremoli) performed Milhaud’s Violin Sonata No. 1.

Taking second prize was cellist James Hettinga (Kraut), playing Elegie for Cello and Piano Op. 251, also in collaboration with Raharjo.

Prize winners are as follows:

  • 1st Prize - Ann Yu, violin; Melivia Raharjo, piano.
  • 2nd Prize - James Hettinga, cello; Melivia Raharjo, piano.
  • 3rd Prize (tie) - Haig Hovespian, violin (Ilya Kaler); Nicole Martin, clarinet (Cohen); and Yuhang Wang, piano (Babayan).
  • 3rd Prize (tie) - Moises Lopez Ruiz, flute (Fink); Eduardo Sepulveda, oboe (Rosenwein); Mason Sangster, clarinet (Cohen); Hunter Lorelli, bassoon (Stees); and Nicholas Giralico, horn (King).

Judges included CIM faculty Marshall Griffith (music theory/Eurhythmics), Brian Sweigart (chair, Eurhythmics) and Madeline Lucas Tolliver, CIM’s senior director of artistic and facilities operations.

The competition is made possible through funds from CIM’s Darius Milhaud endowment.